SenSys 2012 CFP

[Apologies if you got multiple copies of this email.]

Paper Registration and Abstract: April 1, 2012, 11:59 pm PDT


**** ACM SenSys 2012 ****
Toronto, Canada
November 6-9, 2010

The ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems (SenSys 2012)
solicits innovative research papers on the systems issues of networked,
embedded sensing and control.

This is an exciting time in the development of the conference, as we
the 10th anniversary of the first conference held in Los A… ACM
brings together academic industry, and government professionals to a
single-track, highly selective forum on sensor network design,
implementation, and application.

We seek technical papers describing original ideas, groundbreaking
and/or quantified system experiences involving sensor systems. SenSys
a broad systems perspective of sensor applications and systems. Topics
interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Experience with real-world deployments and applications
  • Resource management and OS support for sensing systems
  • Energy management and harvesting for long-term operation
  • Innovative sensing applications across broad areas (e.g.,
    monitoring, mobile healthcare, transportation, education)
  • Wireless communication systems and protocols for sensor networks
  • Sensor systems leveraging smart phones, body area networks, RFIDs,
    robots, etc.
  • Sensing technologies for pervasive computing
  • Sensor network measurement and characterization
  • Programming paradigms and models for distributed sensing
  • Sensor network debugging, fault-tolerance and reliability
  • Sensing, actuation and control in cyber-physical systems
  • Distributed sensor data storage, retrieval, processing and management
  • Approaches to sensor network architecture
  • Sensor data quality, integrity, and trustworthiness
  • In-network data reduction, inference, and signal processing
  • Security and privacy in sensor networks
  • Time and location estimation and management

Submissions will be judged on originality, significance, clarity,
and correctness. In addition to citing relevant, published work, authors
must relate their submissions to relevant submissions of their own that
simultaneously under review for this or other venues.


Submissions must be full papers, at most 14 single-spaced 8.5" x 11"
including figures, tables, and references, two-column format, using
type on 11-point (tight single-spaced) leading, with a maximum text
block of
7" wide x 9" deep with an intercolumn spacing of .25". Authors must make
good faith effort to anonymize their submissions. Papers that do not
the size, formatting, and anonymization requirements will not be
Accepted submissions will be available on the ACM digital library at
one week before the conference.

All papers must be submitted through the conference submission site:


Paper Registration and Abstract: April 1, 2012, 11:59 pm PDT
Paper Submission Deadline: April 8, 2012, 11:59 pm PDT
Notification of Paper Acceptance: July 16, 2012

Note that these are hard deadlines - no extensions will be granted.

=== Committees

Organizing committee

General Chair
Rasit Eskicioglu (University of Manitoba)

Program Chairs
Andrew T. Campbell (Dartmouth College)
Koen Langendoen (Delft University of Technology)

Poster Chair
Thomas S. (University of Utah)

Demo Chairs
Jakob Eriksson (University of Illinois, Chicago)
Pei Zhang (CMU)

Local Arrangements Chairs
Geoffrey Challen (University of Buffalo)

Publicity Chairs
Qing Cao (University of Tennessee)
Alberta Cerpa (UC Merced)
Xiaofan Jiang (Microsoft Research Asia)
Chiara Petrioli (University of Rome La Sapienza)

Publication Chair
Karthik Dantu (Harvard University)

Workshop Chair
Bodhi Priyantha (Microsoft Research)

N2Women Chair
Geethapriya Thamilarasu (SUNYIT)

Doctoral Colloquium Chair
Polly Huang (NTU)

Student Travel Award Chair
Radu Stoleru (Texas A&M University)

Web S. Chair
Chieh-Jan Mike Liang (Microsoft Research Asia)

Technical program committee

Tarek Abdelzaher (UIUC)
Philippe Bonnet (Copenhagen)
Srdjan Capkun (ETH Zurich)
Geoffrey Challen (Buffalo)
Hao Chu (NTU)
Landon Cox (Duke University)
Prabal Dutta (Michigan)
Jakob Eriksson (UIC)
Deepak Ganesan (UMASS Amherst)
Jie Gao (Stony Brook)
Omprakash Gnawali (Houston)
Santosh Kumar (Memphis)
Brano Kusy (CSIRO)
Philip Levis (Stanford)
Chenyang Lu (WUSTL)
Cecilia Mascolo (Cambridge)
Emiliano Miluzzo (AT&T Labs)
Thomas Moscibroda (Microsoft)
Luca Mottola (SICS)
Amy Murphy (FBK)
Vijay Raghunathan (Purdue)
Utz Roedig (Lancaster)
Anthony Rowe (CMU)
Sivan T. (Tel-Aviv)
Niki Trigoni (Oxford)
Kamin Whitehouse (Virginia)

Steering committee

SIGMOBILE representative: Chiara Petrioli
SIGCOMM representative: Sylvia Ratnasamy (2008-)
Sensys 2011 chairs: Jie Liu, Philip Levis, Kay Roemer
Sensys 2010 chairs: Jan Beutel, Deepak Ganesan, John Stankovic
(current SC chair, 2011)
Sensys 2009 chairs: David Culler, Jie Liu, Matt Welsh (SC chair, 2010)