Proc and super: How can I apply a "proc pattern" in a superclass-subclass relationship?

I am a newbie on a journey to learn Ruby and Rails.

My toy project has a class hierarchy. All subclasses of a certain class have a method with this structure:

def mymethod
  code_A_common_to_subclasses
  subclass_specific_code
  code_B_common_to_subclasses
end

Normally, this would be an excellent case for yield:

def mymethod
  code A
  yield
  code B

where the subclass-specific code would be in a block provided to mymethod.

Since several subclasses use mymethod, it should be implemented in the superclass. However, my head spins trying to understand how a subclass can provide its subclass_specific_code block to the superclass method.

Does this make sense at all? Can this be done as outlined? How would you implement such a pattern?

Won’t you be better served with a lambda?

Why don’t you create a simple class hierarchy to demonstrate your intention clearly.

Re-reading your post I can recommend that you revisit the basics of object orient coding. In your re-reading, I would concentrate on modules and inheritance and how they are used to construct classes.

Thanks much, I will definitely review what I learned. However for now I would like to understand what I am missing. If you have enough patience to look into this sample hierarchy:

class Parent
  def initialize(a, b)
    @a = a
    @b = b
  end
end

class Child1 < Parent
  def initialize
    super
    @c1 = 23
  end
  def mymethod(n)
    @a += n
    @c1 -= n
    puts "#{@a} #{@b}"
  end
end

class Child2 < Parent
  def initialize
    super
    @c2 = 33
  end
  def mymethod(n)
    @a += n
    @c2 -= n
    puts "#{@a} #{@b}"
  end
end

So, the two mymethod definitions look very similar, with identical blocks at their beginning and end, and a subclass-specific block in the middle. I consider it a waste to have almost identical copies of mymethod in several subclasses (let alone the potential for errors due to redundancy).