Pls i need help, I am stuck and frustrated

Pls can someone help me out, I am trying to use a times loop to get 5 student’s (first and last name) and then store the user’s input i.e first and last name in an array but each time I do this, only the last item gets stored in the array.
Here is what I did;
Students_names = [ ]
5.times do
puts “enter first and last name”
Students_name = gets.chomp.upcase
end
Puts students_name
I want the output to look like this
Students_name = [ CHINA CHINESE, USA AMERICAN, JAPAN JAPANESE, IRAN IRANIAN, GHANA ACCRA].
Also I want to be able to print those out in parallel if I wanted. Thanks in advance.
P:s I am very new to coding

Did you try pushing the names onto the students_name array?

student_array = []

5.times{
  print "Enter first and last name: "
  ans = gets.chomp
  student_array.push(ans)
}

p student_array

Important note! Variables that begin with an uppercase letter are constants in Ruby. i.e. Students_names.

1 Like

Thanks for taking out the time to reply me, i am very grateful. I tried your suggestion and it worked, now i can get on with my assignment after being stuck for days.thanks alot.

G4143, you can simplify to student_array == 5.times.map { ... }; p student_array.

2 Likes

The code will look like this:

student_array = 5.times.map { print("Enter first and last name: ") || STDIN.gets.chomp }
p student_array

Don’t forget the STDIN.gets instead of bare gets (Kernel#gets) because it first looks for a file before asking for user input. So if the OP passes arguments wrongly, s/he will get confused because her/his program may crash or read an existing file!..

@SouravGoswami
Why the short circuit || and not a semi-colon(;)?

print("Enter first and last name: ") || STDIN.gets.chomp