New to Ruby is $ depricated?

Hello ALL … I am just starting out and every turn so far has not been easy. I am figuring it out as I go but it is frustrating. I am seeing it used, the $ at the beginning of the line of code.

Every time I enter it with an example, $ ruby puts “Hello World!” for example it throws an error. That ‘$’ is not recognized…internal / external command, op program or batch file. I have 2.3.3p222 and 2.4.5 with MSYS2 installed and would I be wrong to guest. This went out or was only relevant in 1.9 versions??

I am working off the command-line and have no trouble using mkdir or navigating and opening the ruby files I am making. I am using Programming Ruby 1.9/2.0 by Dave Thomas 2013 edition paper copy. Plus the free tutorial from Pragmatic`s site.

Most important is I finally found this site that I hope is active, Stack Overflow is out of the question for me. I know I have no experience and this is all very new to me. Asking for help on that site is a kick in the nuts and you are left feeling like you are wasting their precious time. Just looking for a solid place to ask questions and in return as time goes on, give back or direct to a valid source. Thanks as this is a introduction to a new newbie. But wondering about the $ sign.

I just keep chipping away at it thanks in advance and …Peace…

$ is what their command line prompt looks like, ignore it.

Thanks for the reply and I got the code to run by omitting it. Being new it shows it used then you get an error. Make it very frustrating…
I did read a few hours ago the the $ dollar sign is the prefix for Global variables. Example: $debug $Customer $_ $Global

It further mentioned: "Although we talk about global and class variables here for completeness, you’ll find they are rarely used in Ruby programs. As evidence shows global var’s make programs harder to maintain.