Help for a total noob trying to debug for the first time

I’m a one-day-old Ruby programmer, with 30 years of Perl programming. I have a MSCS (from FAU go Owls!) and I’ve been a computer professional since my US ARMY COBOL days in the mid 70s.

I need a bootstrap load for Ruby debugging please! At this point I’m stumbling about trying to run debugger on a code base which is largely foreign to me. The code I can figure out- the debugger not so much…

We have Ruby 1.8.6 on linux (we can’t upgrade the version due to SOX and other inhibitors)

Some quandries:

1. invoking the debugger. Most references tell me to use shell> rdbg , which on our system is an unknown command. I also looked at pry and other options but apparently we need ruby >2.0 for most. I DID get ruby -rdebug to work, which I’m hoping is the functional equivalent of rdgb? Maybe I need an alias? But at least I’m in SOME debugger of some variety? Do I need a require debugger in my source?

2. I’ve read many debugging guides, most of which look like expanded versions of what “h” provides. But many things don’t seem to work as described or are indeterminant, for example:

i[nfo] if supposed to show variables but instead seems tells me undefined variable “i”
v , same thing, undefined var or method
th same thing (and what is a thread? I know what one is in a “CS” context, but they’re so rarely used, it seems odd they’re so prominent as a debugger term)
Most other help items only result in “undefined var or method” . Luckily, n,s,c,l and b all seem to work almost like Perl dbg so I can at least do basic debugging.

When code execution stops, it eventually tells me a .rb file name and line number it stopped at. But only after a huge list like: