Call for Papers: Conference on Domain-Specific Languages (DSL 2011)

============================ Call for Papers

DSL 2011: Conference on Domain-Specific Languages
(IFIP sponsorship pending approval)

6-8 September 2011, Bordeaux, France


Domain-specific languages have long been a popular way to shorten
the distance from ideas to products in software engineering. On one
hand, the interface of a DSL lets domain experts express high-level
concepts succinctly in familiar notation, such as grammars for text or
scripts for animation, and often provides guarantees and tools that take
advantage of the specifics of the domain to help write and maintain
these particular programs. On the other hand, the implementation of a
DSL can automate many tasks traditionally performed by a few experts
to turn a specification into an executable, thus making this expertise
available widely. Overall, a DSL thus mediates a collaboration between
its users and implementers that results in software that is more usable,
more portable, more reliable, and more understandable.

These benefits of DSLs have been delivered in domains old and new, such
as signal processing, data mining, and Web scripting. Widely known
examples of DSLs include Matlab, Verilog, SQL, LINQ, HTML, OpenGL,
Macromedia Director, Mathematica, Maple, AutoLisp/AutoCAD, XSLT, RPM,
Make, lex/yacc, LaTeX, PostScript, and Excel. Despite these successes,
the adoption of DSLs have been stunted by the lack of general tools and
principles for developing, compiling, and verifying domain-specific
programs. General support for building and using DSLs is thus urgently
needed. Languages that straddle the line between the domain-specific
and the general-purpose, such as Perl, Tcl/Tk, and JavaScript, suggest
that such support be based on modern notions of language design and
software engineering. The goal of this conference, following the last
one in 2009, is to explore how present and future DSLs can fruitfully
draw from and potentially enrich these notions.

We seek research papers on the theory and practice of DSLs, including
but not limited to the following topics.

  • Foundations, including semantics, formal methods, type theory, and
    complexity theory
  • Language design, including concrete syntax, semantics, and types
  • Software engineering, including domain analysis, software design,
    and round-trip engineering
  • Modularity and composability of DSLs
  • Software processes, including metrics for software and language
  • Implementation, including parsing, compiling, program generation,
    program analysis, transformation, optimization, and parallelization
  • Reverse engineering, re-engineering, design discovery, automated
  • Hardware/software codesign
  • Programming environments and tools, including visual languages,
    debuggers, testing, and verification
  • Teaching DSLs and the use of DSLs in teaching
  • Case studies in any domain, especially the general lessons they
    provide for DSL design and implementation

The conference will include a visit to the city of Bordeaux, a tour
and tasting at the wine museum and cellar, and a banquet at La Belle


Papers will be judged on the depth of their insight and the extent
to which they translate specific experience into general lessons
for software engineers and DSL designers and implementers. Where
appropriate, papers should refer to actual languages, tools, and
techniques, provide pointers to full definitions, proofs, and
implementations, and include empirical results.

Proceedings will be published in Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical
Computer Science ( Submissions and final
manuscripts should be at most 25 pages in EPTCS format.


  • 2011-04-18: Abstracts due
  • 2011-04-25: Submissions due
  • 2011-06-10: Authors notified of decisions
  • 2011-07-11: Final manuscripts due
  • 2011-09-05: Distilled tutorials
  • 2011-09-06/2011-09-08: Main conference


  • Emilie Balland (INRIA)
  • Olaf Chitil (University of Kent)
  • Zo Drey (IRIT)
  • Nate Foster (Cornell University)
  • Mayer Goldberg (Ben-Gurion University)
  • Shan Shan Huang (LogicBlox)
  • Sam Kamin (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  • Jerzy Karczmarczuk (University of Caen)
  • Jan Midtgaard (Aarhus University)
  • Keiko Nakata (Tallinn University of Technology)
  • Klaus Ostermann (University of Marburg)
  • Jeremy Siek (University of Colorado at Boulder)
  • Tony Sloane (Macquarie University)
  • Josef Svenningsson (Chalmers University of Technology)
  • Paul Tarau (University of North Texas)
  • Dana N. Xu (INRIA)


Local chair: Emilie Balland (INRIA)
Program chairs: Olivier Danvy (Aarhus University),
Chung-chieh Shan (Rutgers University)